Winners of NZ Open Source Awards revealed

The winners of the 2016 New Zealand Open Source Awards have been announced.

Jason Ryan, chair of the judging panel said the winners constituted an impressive list of New Zealand's Open Source community, and represented a cross-section of a thriving technical, social and creative sector.

“The calibre of the nominations meant that there were strong contenders in every category. And while all of the finalists were worthy of recognition, the judges unanimously agreed that the winners in each category were those most deserving of recognition for their contributions”, Ryan said.

The Awards aim to raise awareness of the free and open source advantage for New Zealand by “telling powerful success stories based on real achievements that are already making a difference for our country,” according to the award web site.

Nominations for each award category come from the New Zealand open source community, government and the private sector. These are evaluated by panel of judges drawn from the different sectors that brings together a wide range of skills and knowledge.

The New Zealand Open Source Awards were first held in 2007, and have been held every two years since 2008.

The winners for each category were:

Government: Digital NZ, for an initiative that seeks to help people find, share, and use NZ digital content.

Business: Catalyst for the Catalyst Cloud, claimed to be the only fully API-driven cloud infrastructure in New Zealand.

Education, Social Services and Youth: Wellington City Council for City Housing Computer Hubs, open source computing hubs for council tenants.

Arts: Massey University's Make/Use team for Make/Use: User Modifiable Zero Waste Fashion, an open source system for making user-modifiable, zero waste garments.

Science: The Cacophony Project, using modern IT tools and applying them to the problem of eradicating rats, stoats and possums from New Zealand.

Open Source Project: Paul Campbell’s OneRNG Project, a device that generates random data to improve the quality of security-critical operations, such as encryption.

Open Source Contributor: Eileen McNaughton for her contribution to CiviCRM.

People's Choice: Brent Wood for services to geospatial open source, and the Office of the Privacy Commissioner for Priv-O-Matic.

Special Award: Michael Kerrisk for his work on the Linux Man Pages Project

Also announced on the night was the University of Auckland's Department of Computer Science Clinton Bedogni Prize for Open Systems. The winner of the 2016 prize was Peter Gutmann.

Copyright © 2016 IDG Communications, Inc.

7 inconvenient truths about the hybrid work trend
Shop Tech Products at Amazon