Government launches fintech advisory group

Stone Chalk chairperson and Westpac director Craig Dunn will chair a new fintech advisory group launched today by the government.

“Although Australia is a leading financial services market in the region, the sector is becoming increasingly globalised and exposed to technological disruption,” said a statement issued on behalf of Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull and Treasurer Scott Morrison.

“Many traditional financial products are being disrupted by the FinTech sector, which is well positioned to become a leading player in the Asia-Pacific,” the statement said.

The group will offer guidance on boosting the fintech sector in Australia.

Along with Dunn, the group consists of:

Simon Cant, Co-Founder and Managing Director, Reinventure
Matt Symons, Co-Founder and CEO, Society One
Jason Yetton, former Group Executive, Retail and Business Banking, Westpac
Nerida Caesar, CEO and Managing Director, Veda
Kelly Bayer Rosmarin, Group Executive, Institutional Banking Markets, Commonwealth Bank
Ben Heap, Founding Partner, H2 Ventures
Claire Wivell Plater, Owner, The Fold Legal Pty Ltd
Asher Tan, Co-Founder and CEO, Coinjar
Libby Roy, Managing Director, Paypal Australia
Jost Stollman, Executive Director and CEO, Tyro Payments
Jonny Wilkinson, Co-Founder and Managing Director, Equitise
Scott Farrell, Partner, King Wood Mallesons.

Copyright © 2016 IDG Communications, Inc.

8 simple ways to clean data with Excel
Shop Tech Products at Amazon