Best IT certifications for the highest paid IT jobs


What certification should you undertake if you want to land a top IT job - and a good salary? With so many options out there it can be hard to know which one to choose.

To save you the legwork we have rounded up some of the best-paid certifications for IT professionals.

Search 1000s of top IT roles on the #ComputerworldUKJobs channel

Here are our top picks.

MCSE: Cloud Platform and Infrastructure certification

This course was previously known as the MCSE- Server Infrastructure certification until it was changed in March this year in order to keep up with the changing industry.

The new certification covers the roles of cloud administrator, cloud architect, computer support specialist and information security analyst. As the demand for Microsoft server infrastructure skills continues to grow this certification will remain in high demand.

Certified in Risk and Information Systems Control (CRISC)

CRISC-certified professionals can help organisations understand business risk. They possess the skills to implement, develop and maintain information systems controls.

To obtain CRISC certification, you must have at least three years of experience in at least two of the four domains the certification covers. You must also pass an exam. The exam is only offered during designated testing windows each year and is computer-based.

Achieving CRISC certification requires ongoing effort and years of planning, but it has been a top certification for years and with the growth of cloud computing, it will surely stay in high demand.

AWS Certified Solutions Architect

This certificate has been created for IT professionals who design and manage applications on the popular Amazon Web Services (AWS) platform.

In order to be accepted, candidates need to have one year of AWS experience and demonstrated proficiency in a major programming language. The exam consists of 60 multiple-choice questions which must be completed in less than 80 minutes.

Certified Information Security Manager (ISACA CISM)

This certification is a great next step for people who have advanced IT skills and are looking for a new challenge. The course teaches candidates how to create and implement security programmes that will keep their organisation safe.

If you choose to do this certificate then you'll have to take a 200-question test on topics such as information security governance, information risk management and incident management.

Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH)

Cybersecurity threats have become a pressing issue for businesses and governments alike over the last number of years. As a result, this certification is becoming more and more relevant.

The CEH certification is geared towards a wide range of IT professionals, especially those responsible for network and data security. If you do decide to hack for good you could earn a pretty penny.

ITIL Foundation

ITIL is the most widely used framework for IT management in the world. It covers everything from availability and capacity management to change and incident management, in addition to application and IT operations management.

ITIL Foundation is the entry-level ITIL certification and provides a broad-based understanding of the IT service lifecycle. To become certified, you must simply pass the exam; there are no other prerequisites for the Foundation exam.

Google Certified Professional Cloud Architect

This certification was launched in 2017. It covers the ability to design, develop and manage a secure, scalable and reliable cloud architecture using Google Cloud Platform (GCP) technologies.

The certification exam tests architect to see if they understand what solution works best for a given scenario. It must be taken in-person at a Kryterion testing centre location.


Copyright © 2019 IDG Communications, Inc.

Shop Tech Products at Amazon