Technology innovators presented with Smithsonian awards

WASHINGTON -- As the recipients -- or "the new heroes," as they're called -- of the 12th annual Computerworld Smithsonian Awards took the stage at the National Building Museum on Monday to accept their coveted trophies, one could almost sense the presence of the people for whom the building was originally erected -- the heroes who went to war to ensure the right of every citizen to think and create.

Built in the 1880s by civil engineer and U.S. Army General Montgomery C. Meigs, the museum initially housed the U.S. Pension Bureau. It was where retired soldiers who fought for the North in the Civil War as part of the Grand Army of the Republic went to pick up their pension benefits.

And during this year's Smithsonian Awards ceremony -- which honored individuals, organizations and companies for their outstanding uses of technology to benefit society -- it was hard not to think about those soldiers and their sacrifices when the trophies were handed out to people such as:

  • Professor Mandla Mchunu and the Independent Electoral Commission of South Africa in Pretoria, which figured out ways to hold free and fair elections in that country.

  • Devan Shepherd and the National Marrow Donor Program in Minneapolis, which helped improve the lives of cancer victims by improving their chances of living with bone marrow from unrelated donors.

  • Graham S. Hawkes and Hawkes Ocean Technology in Redmond, Calif., which developed 3-D design tools that helped create a small, inexpensive submersible craft to enable scientists to explore the ocean depths.

  • Dara McCormick Feldman, Bonny Chambers and the Montgomery County Schools in Maryland, which used computers to enhance early childhood education.

As those award winners and others cited for their technological breakthroughs and leadership qualities in the field of information technology stood on a stage in the middle of the museum's Great Hall, they were greeted with the cheers and admiration of their fellow nominees and other guests.

All accepted their awards with humility and grace, including Daniel Skala, executive vice president of Brussels-based Proton World International. Proton World won an award for developing smart-card technology that provides "electronic purses" to consumers for use in making secure payments in shops, at machines and via the Internet.

Skala brought the house down when he said he wanted to communicate to the audience in the most-used international language -- "bad English."

And as her grandfather, Max Hopper, accepted the last leadership award for his role in creating and developing the Sabre computerized reservations system -- which transformed the travel industry worldwide -- 4-year-old Carolyn Wassmer stood up and waved a white flag decorated with black dots at her "Papa" to show how proud she was of him. She had made the flag out of materials placed at each table for the assembled guests to use to create innovative centerpieces.

And once again -- with Carolyn's flag waving in the background -- it seemed like this year's heroes were standing shoulder-to-shoulder with the shadows of the heroes of yesteryear.

The complete list of Computerworld Smithsonian Award winners for technology usage includes:

  • Business & Related Services: EBay Inc. for online auction

  • Education & Academia: Montgomery County Public Schools for The Early Childhood Technology Literacy Project

  • Environment, Energy & Agriculture: Department of Primary Industry and Fisheries, Northern Territory

  • Finance, Insurance & Real Estate: Proton World International for electronic purse systems and Nationwide Building Society for Iris Recognition

  • Government & Nonprofit Organizations: Independent Electoral Commission of South Africa for Electoral Operations

  • Manufacturing: Danfoss Drives for fully automated document factory team

  • Medicine: The National Marrow Donor Program for Search Tracking And Registry

  • Media, Arts & Entertainment: RealNetworks for Internet media innovations

  • Science: Hawkes Ocean Technologies (HOT) for deep flight project

  • Transportation: Delta Air Lines for Delta Technology Customer Care System

The following Leadership Awards were also presented:

  • PricewaterhouseCoopers Leadership Award for Lifetime Achievement: Gordon Moore, Chairman Emeritus, Intel Corp.

  • Cap Gemini Ernst & Young Leadership Award for Global Integration: Carly Fiorina, President and CEO, Hewlett-Packard Co.

  • Morgan Stanley Dean Witter Leadership Award for Global Commerce: Stephen Case, Chairman and CEO, America Online Inc.

  • eLoyalty Award for Leadership in The Relationship Revolution: Bill Bass, senior vice president of e-Commerce and international, and Ann Vesperman, vice president of customer services, Lands' End Inc.

  • J.D. Edwards Leadership Award for Innovation in Action: Max Hopper, Principal, Max D. Hopper Associates Inc.

Copyright © 2000 IDG Communications, Inc.

7 inconvenient truths about the hybrid work trend
Shop Tech Products at Amazon