Leaders of the Worldwide Information Technology Revolution to Be Honored in Washington, D.C. on June 4

Fourteenth Annual "Search for New Heroes" Gala Celebrates Three Individuals and 53 Organizations from Around the World

BOSTON - May 21, 2001 - Tim Berners-Lee, Ray Lane, Stratton Sclavos, and representatives of more than 50 organizations selected for their outstanding leadership and positive contributions to the worldwide information technology revolution will be honored in Washington, D.C., on June 4, 2001, at the 14th annual Computerworld Honors "Search for New Heroes" celebrations.

Nearly 1,000 guests, including representatives of the 100 industry Chairmen and CEOs who serve on the Program Chairmen's Committee, academics and diplomats representing the more than 40 countries whose Laureates have been honored by the Program since 1988, Awards Program Judges and industry leaders will join the Laureates, and their families at Washington's historic National Building Museum for this annual celebration of excellence and the positive impact of information technology on society.

"For 14 years the industry Chairmen, Archives and Academic Council members who make this Program possible have worked together to seek out, recognize, honor and preserve the stories of the men, women, organizations and institutions leading this worldwide revolution," said Patrick J. McGovern, Chairman of the Program's Chairmen's Committee, Chairman of International Data Group (IDG), and Founder of both IDG and Computerworld, a global information services company for the IT leader community. "These outstanding men and women, all developers or innovative users of information technology in service to mankind, are the true heroes of the information age."

"The celebrations on June 4 are unique," according to Alan Guibord, President, CEO and Publisher of Computerworld. "They will give special recognition to the most outstanding members of an already well-recognized and honored group: the Computerworld Honors Laureates of the Worldwide Class of 2001."

Leadership Awards 2001

Leadership Awards will be presented to the following three individuals:

Tim Berners-Lee, recognized worldwide for his creation of the software, first server and first website on the World Wide Web, will receive the Cap Gemini Ernst & Young Leadership Award for Global Integration. Berners-Lee, an Oxford graduate, Officer of the British Empire, McArthur Fellow, and currently the 3Com Founders Chair at the Laboratory for Computer Science at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, will be honored for his "significant, substantive, and personal contributions to encourage, enhance, and further the spirit of innovation in the development or application of information technology throughout the world."

Raymond J. Lane, currently a General Partner at Kleiner Perkins Caulfield & Byers, and perhaps best known for his role in the emergence of Oracle Corporation, will receive the J.D. Edwards Leadership Award for Collaborative Innovation. The J.D. Edwards Award recognizes "global leaders . . . who have demonstrated an extraordinary commitment to bringing together individuals and businesses in collaborations to maximize value and effect positive change."

Stratton Sclavos, President and CEO of VeriSign, will receive the Morgan Stanley Leadership Award for Global Commerce. Known for his contribution to making the Web a secure environment, Sclavos, the grandson of Greek immigrants who fled the Balkan Wars of the early 20th century, will be recognized for his " . . . critical contribution to the effective use of information technology in the positive exchange of value for value throughout the world."

21st Century Achievement Awards 2001

Ten of the 53 organizations honored as Worldwide Finalists on June 4 will also be singled out for special recognition in the form of Computerworld Honors 21st Century Achievement Awards.

"The 10 awards recipients, have been selected by the Program's judges as the 'best of the best' of this year's 53 Worldwide Finalists", said Daniel Morrow, Executive Director of the Program. "The Finalists themselves were chosen from the 311 Laureates honored at medal ceremonies in San Francisco in April, and the entire process actually began with more than 500 organizations, worldwide, nominated by the Program Chairmen's Committee."

The 53 Worldwide Finalists were selected from this year's class of Laureates by a distinguished panel of judges who evaluated all Laureates on the basis of the difficulty of the problems addressed by their work, the breadth and depth of their positive impact on the world, the originality of their application of information technology, and its potential for inspiring or producing further positive change.

Capturing the History of a Revolution in Progress Since 1988

The Computerworld Honors Archive currently includes videotaped oral histories of Leadership Award recipients, an archive of nearly 4,000 case studies documenting the work of the program's laureates, and a host of other primary source materials which document how information technology is being used to benefit society. This collection has been presented to more than 140 museums, libraries, archives, universities and research institutions worldwide.

For information about the Computerworld Honors Laureates, Worldwide Finalists and Leadership Award recipients, from 1988/89 to the present, please visit the program's "Search for New Heroes" archives online at www.cwheroes.org.

For interviews, credentials, admission to events, or further information on symposia and other Program-supported activities, please contact the Collections Director at 617-357-1977.

Copyright © 2001 IDG Communications, Inc.

7 inconvenient truths about the hybrid work trend
Shop Tech Products at Amazon